The list of "files shared with me" contains files other people shared with you and can be quite extensive. Sometimes these include files people are no longer interested in or feel they shouldn't have access to (GDPR). At the moment, only the original owner of the file can remove the share from the document so the person who it was shared with has no control over what is shared with him/her.
Our users request the ability to remove their name themselves from the list of people the file was shared with so they don't have to bother or wait for the owner. This is also important as owners might have moved on or are otherwise no longer available.