HCL Connections | Product Ideas Portal

Welcome to the HCL Connections Product Ideas Lab! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated by the HCL Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events, please visit our HCL Connections page.

When file is saved via Sync, create a new version

Currently, when you work via your sync folder, when you save the file, the current version is overwritten.  Often this is fine, but if you want to save the current version in the version history and make the next update a new version, you can only doing this by uploading the file via the browser, which means first saving the file in another place, navigating to the browser and uploading, wait for it to sync back down and reopen it from the sync folder. 

One could consider saving every update as a new version by default (which would use a lot of unnecessary space), or introducing a right-click menu option in the plugin to let users indicate when an update gets saved as a new version.  There would be work involved in getting the UX just right.

  • Guest
  • Oct 18 2018
  • Under Consideration
  • Attach files
  • Guest commented
    11 Jan, 2019 12:47pm

    and O365 one drive has it too https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/blog/2017/07/19/expanding-onedrive-version-history-support-file-types/

  • Guest commented
    11 Jan, 2019 12:44pm

    box.com has it too, it is often call "version history" https://community.box.com/t5/Organizing-and-Tracking-Content/Accessing-Version-History/ta-p/50452

  • Guest commented
    11 Jan, 2019 12:42pm

    Compared to file sync services such as google drive or dropbox, the "My Drive" in the IBM Connections cloud lacks a proper version history which puts all files in "my drive" at risk to loose data