If a folder is deleted inside a Community, the files that were contained in the folder are not deleted. Instead they are still available in the "All files" section of the Community. Only the association of the file with the folder is being deleted. Currently files have to be deleted one by one first to work around this.
For users, this behavior is not intuitive and should therefore be changed.