Skip to Main Content
HCL Connections Ideas Portal

Welcome to the HCL Connections Product Ideas Lab! The place where you can submit product ideas and enhancement request. We encourage you to participate by voting on, commenting on, and creating new ideas. All new ideas will be evaluated by the HCL Product Management & Engineering teams, and the next steps will be communicated. While not all submitted ideas will be executed upon, community feedback will play a key role in influencing which ideas are and when they will be implemented.

For more information and upcoming events, please visit our HCL Connections page.

229 VOTE
Status Assessment
Created by Guest
Created on Jul 24, 2018

Restore deleted Folders in Community

In Connections Cloud communities. create a folder, and add some files.


Then "accidentally" delete the folder. -> there is no listing of a Folder in the Files Trash section so the Client assumes the data is lost.The files are still listed in the FIles section, so the workaround is to create a folder again and manually add in the files that were in the original Folder. This is impractical where a Community has 1,000's of Files...

  All files are listed in the Files section, however organizing them into folders doesn't move them from the Files listing, but rather links them to a folder. So deleting a folder doesn't delete the file contents. While this is counter intuitive your data should still be listed in the Files listing.

To rectify this you will simply need to create the Folder again and find the files among the Files listing  that were in (linked to) the deleted Folder and add them to the Folder. I understand this is somewhat or a design issue, and can be impractical where an organization may have thousands of files in the Files listing so I have created an enhancement request for this.